Lake Anna Advisory Committee

The Lake Anna Advisory Committee is a joint administrative organization between the Counties of Orange, Spotsylvania, and Louisa, under provisions of Section 15.1-21 of the Code of Virginia, 1950 as amended. The purpose of the Lake Anna Advisory Committee (LAAC) is to address matters of joint interests pertaining to Lake Anna and the adjacent shorelands governed by the surrounding counties.

View the Lake Anna Advisory Committee Bylaws.
View the Cooperative Agreement.

Lake Anna Advisory Committee Meetings

Meeting locations rotate between Orange, Spotsylvania, and Louisa Counties. The meeting held each July shall serve as the annual organizational meeting. A meeting schedule for the upcoming year will be determined at the last meeting of each year and will be posted accordingly. For more information or questions regarding the meeting schedule, please contact one of the Lake Anna Advisory Committee's secretaries.

The next meeting will take place on:

- January 24, 2018 at 7:00 p.m. in Louisa County- Canceled 
- February 28, 2018 at 7:00 in Louisa County

Current Members

Louisa County Citizen Representative
Chris McCotter, Chair
75 Edgewood Drive
Mineral, Virginia 23117

Term Expires: December 31, 2019
Dominion Energy Representative
Sarah Perkinson
Post Office Box 26666
Richmond, Virginia 23261
(804) 814-5448

Spotsylvania County Citizen Representative
Robert Egan
10902 Carlton Drive
Bumpass, Virginia 23024
(540) 878-6669

Term Expires: December 31, 2021
Louisa County Citizen Representative
Richard "Dick" Shrum, Treasurer
334 Anna Highview Drive
Bumpass, Virginia 23024
(540) 872-5409

Term Expires: December 31, 2021
Orange County Citizen Representative

Spotsylvania County Representative
Greg Benton
P.O. Box 99
Spotsylvania, Virginia 22553

Term Expires: December 31, 2018
Louisa County Board Representative
R.T. "Toni" Williams
P.O. Box 160
Louisa, Virginia 23093
(540) 894-7590

Term Expires: December 31, 2018
Orange County Board Representative
James "Jim" White
22373 Berry Run Road
Orange, Virginia 22960
(540) 672-1517

Term Expires: December 31, 2018
Spotsylvania County Board Representative
Kevin Marshall
P.O. Box 99
Spotsylvania, Virginia 22553
(540) 755-6087

Term Expires: December 31, 2021
Louisa County Administrator
Christian Goodwin
P. O. Box 160
Louisa, Virginia 23093
(540) 967-3400

Orange County Administrator
R. Bryan David
P. O. Box 111
Orange, Virginia 22960
(540) 672-3313

Spotsylvania County Administrator
Mark Taylor
P. O. Box 99
Spotsylvania, Virginia 22553
(540) 507-7010

Agendas & Minutes

View Most Recent | View All

For More Information

For more information on the Lake Anna Advisory Committee, please contact:
  • Lauren Compton, Louisa County Secretary, at (540) 967-0401 or'
  • Susan Turner, Orange County Secretary, at (540) 672-3313 or'
  • Paulette Mann, Spotsylvania County Secretary, at (540) 507-7447 or'

"No-Wake" Buoy Requests

Because Lake Anna is enjoyed by so many, it is vital that safety on the water remains a priority.  State regulations require that buoy request applications for the cold side of Lake Anna be initially forwarded to Louisa County Administration. In addition, a copy of the application will be sent to the Lake Anna Advisory Committee Navigation Subcommittee. If you would like to request the placement of a hazardous buoy or buoys on the cold side of the lake, please complete the Lake Anna Cold Side "No Wake" Buoy Application Packet and submit all necessary documentation to the Louisa County Administration Office.  Please review the application packet for the complete application process and important details.  Please note that the application process typically takes about 1.5-2 months.  Information regarding the application process for buoy requests on the warm side of Lake Anna will follow.  

Completed applications can be dropped off at the Administration Office or mailed to:

Louisa County Administration Office
PO Box 160
Louisa, VA 23093

When submitting an application, a non-refundable processing fee is required.  Please include cash or a check in the amount of $50.00 to be made out to Louisa County.